An Ordinary Muslim


By Hammaad Chaudry
Directed by Jo Bonney

2017/18 Season

Good Neighbor Program Directions Accessibility
Read Synopsis

Balancing the high expectations of the previous generation, the doctrines of their Muslim community, and the demands of secular Western culture, Azeem Bhatti and his wife Saima struggle to straddle the gap between their Pakistani heritage and their British upbringing. Making his professional debut, playwright Hammaad Chaudry explores what it means to be AN ORDINARY MUSLIM. Obie Award winner Jo Bonney directs.


Hammaad Chaudry / Playwright

An Ordinary Muslim marks playwright Hammaad Chaudry’s professional debut. He is currently a Van Lier Fellow at New Dramatists, a NYTW Usual Suspect, member of The Public Theater’s Emerging Writers Group 2017 and recipient of the New Playwrights Award from Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland. He is also a graduate of the Royal Court Theatre’s Young Writers Programme in London where his work was selected for the Young Writers Festival and Unheard Voices competition. He holds an MFA in Playwriting from Columbia University and hails from Edinburgh, Scotland.

Jo Bonney / Director

Premieres of plays by: Alan Ball, Eric Bogosian, Culture Clash, Eve Ensler, Jessica Goldberg, Danny Hoch, Neil LaBute, Warren Leight, Martyna Majok, Lynn Nottage, Dael Orlandersmith, Suzan-Lori Parks, Darci Picoult, John Pollono, Will Power, David Rabe, Jose Rivera, Seth Zvi Rosenfeld, Christopher Shinn, Diana Son, Universes, Naomi Wallace, Michael Weller. Productions of plays by: Caryl Churchill, Nilo Cruz, Anna Deavere Smith, Charles Fuller, Lisa Loomer, Carey Perloff, Lanford Wilson. Productions directed at: ART; PS 122; The Public Theater; NYTW; Second Stage; Goodman Theatre; La Jolla; MCC; Geffen Playhouse; WTF; McCarter Theater; Playwrights Horizons; Arena Stage; Mark Taper Forum; Signature (NY); Long Wharf; The New Group; CSC; The Royal Court & Almeida; Edinburgh Festival; The Market Theatre, Johannesburg; Cine 13, Paris. Lortel Awards for Best Musical and Best Revival; Drama Desk nominee (Direction) for By the Way, Meet Vera Stark; Audelco Award (Direction) for Father Comes Home from the Wars; Obie Award for Sustained Excellence of Direction; Lilly Award. Editor of Extreme Exposure (TCG).